Virtual March on Washington for the Delta

  • Author:
  • Send To:
    Members of the US Congress
  • Sponsored By:
    Registered Voters in the U.S.
  • More Info at:
Be it resolved, that we the undersigned petitioners join this Virtual March on Washington, because we find the following:

Our US Congress is spending billions of dollars in the redevelopment of Iraq;

Has spent hundreds of millions of dollars developing other regions of the United States, including the Tennessee Valley, Appalachia, and the Denali area of Alaska;

That the Delta Regional Authority, which Congress established to develop the Lower Mississippi Valley Delta Region of the United States while the poorest region of the United States -- remains the least funded by Congress of its many development efforts, both domestically and internationally, and;

Therefore, we respectfully and specifically request that Members of the US Senate and House of Representatives representing the Delta Regional Authority Senators Mark Pryor (D-Ar.), Blanche Lincoln (D-Ar.), Thad Cochran (R-Ms.), Trent Lott (R-Ms.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Kit Bond (R-Mo.), Mary Landrieu (D-La.), David Vitter (R-La.), Jeff Sessions (R-Al.), Richard Shelby (R-Al.), Lamar Alexander (R-Tn.), and Bob Corker (R-Tn.) as well as Congressmembers Marion Berry (D-Ar.), Bennie Thompson (D-Ms.), Roger Wicker (R-Ms.), Russ Carnahan (D-Mo.), Lacy Clay (D-Mo.), Jo Ann Emerson (R-La.), Rodney Alexander (R-La.), Richard Baker (R-La.), Bobby Jindal (R-La.), Bill Jefferson (D-La.), Charlie Melancon (D-La.), Artur Davis (D-Al.), and Steve Cohen (D-Tn.) begin to correct this glaring inequity by introducing the appropriate legislation to fund $300 million in development aide to the DRA for Fiscal Year 2008, including all appropriate fiscal controls as normally required, and that they lead the US Congress in recognizing the needs of the Delta Region, educating other Members of Congress on the reasons for this need, and do all other things required to secure successful passage of this legislation and subsequent funding. Furthermore, we commit ourselves to remember at Election Time those members on this list who choose to support funding for the rebuilding of Iraq and yet do not support legislation that rebuilds their own constituents.